Archives

All posts for the day March 9th, 2014

Valiant 2014

Published Sun 9th March 2014 by willowmoonshadow

Well, I’ve just returned from my weekend back in my hometown of Sheffield. One of the reasons I was there was to attend this years Valiant 2014 Doctor Who convention.

After a very pleasant night spent in my hotel room (I was soooooooooo glad not to have a cat wake me in the morning!) and breakfast, I headed to the Showroom in order to watch Doctor Who – Dalek’s Invasion Earth 2150AD. A brilliant start to the day!

Once the movie was over, it was a short walk to the nearby Workstation and the chance to meet and talk to just some of those who had the opportunity to be affiliated with Doctor Who.

To say the day was amazing, is an understatement. It was FANTASTIC!

I DID feel a little out of my depth there however, some of those attending took my “obsession” to a WHOLE new level! Some even travel far and wide to attend various conventions, practically “following” certain celebs all over the country!! Then there are those who know almost EVERY SINGLE DETAIL about various episodes etc.

To be fair, the convention WAS predominantly focused on classic Who, looking at the time of the 2nd Doctor, Patrick Troughton, and although I DO know SOME things related to the classic Who, I haven’t yet had chance to sit and watch ALL (available) episodes of classic Who, and I still struggle remembering which companions are which, and who went with which Doctor.

However, I DID enjoy myself and it WAS nice to be able to meet some of the companions of the past.

IMG_0806

Me and Frazer Hines (aka Jamie McCrimmon)

IMG_0807

Me and Deborah Watling (aka Victoria Waterfield)

My problem is that I have all these witty or inquiring things to say to these people, yet as soon as I get to meet them face to face I turn into an idiot and either start babbling away with utter rubbish, or my mind goes blank…….or I just lose all nerve and can just about ask for them for an autograph….. never was this more noticeable as when I met the very gorgeous and talented David Tennant…… (SERIOUS fancying going on here lol)…… still, all those I “spoke” with were VERY lovely and absolutely wonderful (and in the case of Katy Manning, VERY VERY talkative!!)

IMG_0808

Me and the very lovely Katy Manning (aka Jo Grant)

IMG_0810

Me and Derek Martin

IMG_0814

my signed book with autographs from, David Troughton, Graham Weston, Ralph Watson, Peter Craze and Geoffrey Beevers

IMG_0815

signed by Katy Manning

IMG_0817

signed by Frazer Hines (AND Graham Weston, who decided to sign nearly EVERYTHING!!)

IMG_0818

signed by Deborah Watling

All in all, I had a REALLY great time and I’m sooooooooooooo glad I had the courage to do it. And on my own too. I think I may have to look at attending next year, perhaps get others to go too, but it has definitely made me slightly less insecure about going to other smaller conventions and I would like to perhaps go to others similar in nature (providing I can afford them that is!) Guess time (and money lol) will tell 🙂