At a loss

Published Mon 17th March 2014 by willowmoonshadow

My very best and close friend was taken into hospital today.

On Saturday evening he said he was feeling very cold and shivery and was planning to have an early night.

Sunday, I heard no word from him until I called mid-afternoon.

He had been asleep over 16 hours and said he felt (and sounded) like crap.

It was a brief call, but at least I knew he was still alive.

Several hours later, his partner called me and said he was feverish yet shivery, and that he was very weak and tired, yet despite all that, he wouldn’t let her call the emergency doctor.

Today I went to work, and let my supervisor know.

On my way to work, my friend called me and he told me he still felt really bad and he was going to the doctors as soon as they opened and would let me know more as things developed.

He sounded REALLY bad.

Just before lunchtime I had a call from him telling me he was being admitted to hospital.

About 10 minutes later, his partner called me and she told me they were on their way to the hospital and that they might keep him in over night, if not longer.

Around 2pm ish, she called me again.

He had had various blood tests and was currently having a drip fitted to administer fluids etc

At the moment, common consensus is that he’s got a urinary infection.

That’s the last I’ve heard and I’m waiting anxiously for more news.

See, the thing is, my friend VERY rarely gets ill. This is the worse I’ve EVER known him to be.

And being able to DO nothing makes it worse.

It’s definitely times like this that I wish I could drive, as I could take stuff up for him and at least FEEL like I’m doing something.

Instead of sitting here and worrying:(

3 comments on “At a loss

  • Leave a comment